Disclaimer: Some of the items I recommend on my blog are sold on Amazon of which I am an affiliate. This means that if you purchase an Item through my Amazon affiliate account I will receive a small payment from them. The payment will in no way effect your purchase price. The amount I receive is used to help pay the cost of maintaining this blog and I appreciate the help you give me by using my affiliate site.
Adjusting to a Gluten-free Diet
Adjusting to A Gluten-Free Diet is not the easiest thing in the world but with a little work it can be done. Here is a list of some Gluten Free Foods for your diet and some that you need to avoid.
It can feel overwhelming to be diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten intolerance or allergy. Many of us are not aware of how much gluten we are ingesting every day, or even the sources of it. Gluten is a common ingredient in many condiments and sauces. Learning to read labels can seem time consuming at first, but your body will thank you for it!
While adjusting to A Gluten-Free diet, trying new recipes and substituting gluten-containing pasta’s and breads may seem intense the first few times you go grocery shopping; however, thankfully, there are many gluten-free foods available, and more being added all the time.
A huge variety of delicious and healthy foods are naturally free from gluten. If your diet largely comprises bread, pasta and pastries this may be hard to believe at first and you may feel that gluten-free means ‘incredibly restrictive’.
After you have made the switch and are enjoying its benefits, you will realize that wheat-based foods are actually only a narrow slice of available culinary options. These include vegetables, fruits, fresh eggs, unprocessed beans and nuts and seed, fresh poultry, fish and meat as well as the majority of dairy products.
Make it a habit to read the labels of packaged and processed foods to determine whether or not the foods you are consuming are mixed or processed with gluten-containing grains, preservatives or additives. It is important to learn which starches and grains can successfully be included in a gluten-free diet.
If you can cook or want to learn, this is a good time to remove processed foods from your diet all together. Make your kitchen a gluten free zone, and produce foods that you know will not be causing any problems with your health.
Not All Grains Contain Gluten
The following grains are gluten-free. Try substituting with them your baking. Some experimentation will be necessary in your new recipes as some of these flours are denser and you may need to add more liquid since it may not be a straightforward substitution.
Safe gluten-free grains include quinoa, flax, amaranth, corn and cornmeal, arrowroot, millet, buckwheat, sorghum and rice. Gluten free flours can also be derived from sources such as bean flour, potato flour, soy flour, tapioca, and soy.
Things to Avoid
In order to help your small intestine to heal, it is vital to avoid all food and drinks containing wheat, rye, triticale, and barley. Note that malt vinegar, malt and malt flavoring are typically made from barley.
It can be difficult to avoid wheat as its products go by such a variety of names. There are different kinds of wheat flour available on supermarket shelves including self-rising, phosphated, bromated, plain and enriched, but unless it specifically says otherwise, it will almost certainly be made from wheat.
Other wheat products to avoid include Graham flour, Bulgur, Farina, Durum flour, Spelt, Semolina and Kamut.
Avoid the following product types unless labeled ‘gluten-free’ or specify they are made with a gluten-free grain: cereals, beer, pies and cakes, breads, croutons, crackers, cookies, candies, salad dressings, seasoned rice mixes, French fries, pastas, imitation seafood or meat, gravies, soy sauce and other sauces, processed lunch meats, vegetables in sauce, self-basting poultry, tortilla chips, potato chips, seasoned snack foods, soup bases and soups.
Watch out for oats as they are often contaminated during the growing and processing production stages. Use oats that are specifically labeled gluten-free.
While it may seem like a lot to give up, just give yourself a little time to find or make replacements and before long you will not have actually given up anything, you will just have found a healthier version for A Gluten-Free Diet.